Moxy Metals


Moon Pendant
December 16, 2009, 4:02 pm
Filed under: Fall 2009

This pendant was made using a process called Cuttlefish casting.  That’s where the sort of wavy, pitted texture came from – the natural striation of the bone, along with the cooling process of the metal.  I carved a circular divet into the backbone of a cuttle fish and cast molten silver into it directly by pouring from a crucible.  I include this process in an Organic Sculpture class I teach.  This pendant is a gift from my grandmother, who, in her new apartment this fall discovered that her fine silverware kept diving down the garbage disposal.  This pendant was created by melting down one of her mangled spoons.  I also soldered sterling tubing onto the top, and hung the piece from at 16″ ball chain.  It is a gift to my grandmother in thanks for her metal donation (though I have not yet made anything from my Dad’s gold teeth…).  It is approximately 1/2″ in diameter, and includes sterling and fine silver.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

