Moxy Metals


New Commission Work: Gas Mask Pendant
March 4, 2010, 1:30 am
Filed under: Commissioned Work., Winter 2010 | Tags: , , ,

This piece is cast in fine silver, then patinated with liver of sulfur and finally sanded to get an aged and battered look.  The client wanted to replicate a model gas mask (apprx. 1″ x 1/2″) for a pendant.  I edited the gas mask slightly, which arrived perhaps as a toy soldier’s ecoutrement.  The initial piece was in a rubber of some kind.  I filled holes, and drilled new ones at the top for jump rings, and popped out eye holes.   Unfortunately, because I tried to cast from the rubber original, there was a lot of porosity in the burn out, and I was left with an incomplete casting.  Luckily, I made a silicon mould of the original in advance, in case such a mis-cast should occur . Still, I think the worn nature of the cast works with this vision, with the exception that I wish the mid section of the mask had cast, there should be a piece connecting the mouth covering with the piece stretching down between the eyes.  Hopefully the client will allow me a second attempt; this time I’ll cast a wax pulled from my silicon mould, hopefully with better results.

Here’s the pendant pre- liver of sulfur, so you can see the difference if you’re not familiar with this process.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

