Moxy Metals


Orchid Pendant/Clasp
October 19, 2010, 8:29 pm
Filed under: Fall 2010 | Tags: , , ,

I actually carved this pendant during the fall/winter of 2008, while I was finishing up my student teaching.  I suppose that makes it the first piece I created after finishing school.  I wanted to carve a form that I really liked, and that was challenging to me – something that I could return to again and again.  I love orchids, and actually used a live model to create this carving.  It’s slightly below scale to keep the weight down, though it’s still heavier than something I’d make today.  For whatever reason (traveling, change, tumult) I never got around to finishing it, but this week I pulled it out of the closet to finally get it done.  The original intention was that the piece act as a clasp on a string of pearls, and it actually has loops designed into the back for hooks to grasp, but I seem to have lost the hook counterpart.  In any case, it could still work as a pendant on its own, or maybe I’ll build it a hook one day.  It’s apprx. 1″ x 3/4″ x 1/2″ in sterling silver, below is a thumb photo for scale reference.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Are you interested in selling this piece or a replica of it? If so, how much would it cost?
Lauren

Comment by Lauren Crowley

Hi Lauren, I could definitely sell this piece. The cost would depend on the price of silver which fluctuates day to day. Also, would you want a chain to mount the piece on? A chain or a strand of pearls would likely raise the price. This pendant, if I were to price it today, would probably cost between 80 and 100$, but that price could change at any time, depending, again, on the price of silver. In addition, I have a mould of this piece, so I could cast it in other materials like copper, bronze, gold or even epoxy resin. Let me know and feel free to email me in the contacts section for more info!

– Max

Comment by moxymetals




Leave a Reply

