Moxy Metals


Islamic Pattern Post Earrings
February 2, 2011, 9:34 pm
Filed under: Winter 2010 | Tags: , , , , , , , ,

After loving my last pair of turquoise/etched copper earrings, I decided to make a lighter, more casual, every-day style post.  These small coin-like earrings are lightweight, and treated with clear acrylic spray to make them safe to wear.  The sterling border and bezel gives them a little higher end penache, and allows them to go dressy.  The entire width is about 1/2″.  Check out a few shots of the earrings being worn:

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I love these earrings. Do you have directions on how you made them? I do some silver work but haven’t tried soldering silver to copper. I am told that it is difficult. If I lived in NY I would be at your studio all the time…Laurie k

Comment by LAURIE K

Hey Laurie,

Soldering silver to copper isn’t so difficult – here I set the base of the earrings up on a steel mesh and soldered from below, so that I wouldn’t risk heating the gallery directly and melting it. Feel free to email me questions any time, I’m pretty good about answering them. Good luck!

Comment by moxymetals

Wow! i like these!

Comment by Lisa Keller-Johnson

Hi Thanks for the tip…recently purchased copper solder from Rio Grande, works great and you get a lot for the money. I have an idea for marrying copper and silver on paper now. Laurie

Comment by LAURIE K




Leave a Reply

