Moxy Metals


Beemer Memorial Rings
October 5, 2011, 5:14 am
Filed under: Fall 2011 | Tags: , ,

Sadly, I lost my childhood horse this August.  He was 32, and suffered a debilitating neurological incident which I believe to have been a stroke.  Before we had to put him to sleep I kept some of his mane as a keepsake and good luck charm – this horse has been everything to me, after all.  After burying him with his herd mate in our Pennsylvania pasture, I decided I needed something more commemorative than a simple hole in the earth.  I decided to build 3 memorial rings, within which to suspend his mane, inspired in part by a friend’s work in college.  I will keep one of the rings, and the other two will go to Beemer’s caretakers (my family) in PA.  They’re sterling silver, resin and horse hair, though they are in different stages of completion in these photos.  Expect more later when all rings are sized and complete.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

